1987 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

1987 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card (Tor/Century)

Count Zero by William Gibson (Gollancz/Arbor House)

Black Genesis by L. Ron Hubbard (Bridge/New Era)

The Ragged Astronauts by Bob Shaw (Gollancz/Baen)

Marooned in Realtime by Vernor Vinge (Analog/Bluejay/Baen)

Best Novella

"Eifelheim" by Michael Flynn (Analog 11/86)

"Escape from Katmandu" by Kim Stanley Robinson (Asimov's 9/86)

"R+R" by Lucius Shepard (Asimov's 4/86)

"Gilgamesh in the Outback" by Robert Silverberg (Rebels in Hell/Asimov's 7/86)

"Spice Pogrom" by Connie Willis (Asimov's 10/86)

Best Novelette

"Thor Meets Captain America" by David Brin (F&SF 7/86)

"Hatrack River" by Orson Scott Card (Asimov's 8/86)

"The Winter Market" by William Gibson (Stardate 3/86/Interzone 15/BurningChrome)

"The Barbarian Princess" by Vernor Vinge (Analog 9/86)

"Permafrost" by Roger Zelazny (Omni 4/86)

Best Short Story

"Robot Dreams" by Isaac Asimov (Robot Dreams/Asimov's Mid-Dec 86)

"Tangents" by Greg Bear (Omni 1/86)

"StillLife" by David Garnett (F&SF 3/86)

"Rat" by James Patrick Kelly (F&SF 6/86)

"The Boy Who Plaited Manes" by Nancy Springer (F&SF 10/86)

Best Non-fiction Book

Trillion Year Spree by Brian Aldiss with David Wingrove (Gollancz/Atheneum)

Science Fiction in Print: 1985 by Charles N. Brown & William G. Contento (Lucas Press)

The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller et al. (Warner/Titan)

Industrial Light and Magic: The Art of Special Effects by Thomas G. Smith (Del Rey)

Only Apparently Real by Paul Williams (Arbor House)

Best Dramatic Presentation

Aliens (20th Century Fox)

The Fly (20th Century Fox)

Labyrinth (Lucasfilms)

Little Shop of Horrors (Geffen)

Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (Paramount)

Best Professional Editor

Terry Carr

Gardner Dozois

Ed Ferman

David Hartwell

Stan Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

Jim Burns

Frank Kelly Freas

Tom Kidd

Don Maitz

J. K. Potter

Barclay Shaw

Best Semi-prozine

Interzone (David Pringle & Simon Ounsley, eds.)

Fantasy Review (Robert A. Collins, ed.)

Locus (Charles N. Brown, ed.)

Science Fiction Chronicle (Andrew Porter, ed.)

Science Fiction Review (Richard Geis)

Best Fanzine

Ansible (Dave Langford, ed.)

File 770 (Mike Glyer, ed.)

Lan's Lantern (George Laskowski, ed.)

Texas SF lnquirer (Pat Mueller, ed.)

Trapdoor (Robert Lichtman, ed.)

Best Fan Writer

Mike Glyer

Arthur Hlavaty

Dave Langford

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Simon Ounsley

D. West

Best Fan Artist

Brad Foster

Stu Shiffman

Steve Fox


Arthur (ATom) Thomson

John W. Campbell Award

Lois McMaster Bujold2

Karen Joy Fowler2

Leo Frankowski1

Katherine Eliska Kimbriel1

Rebecca Brown Ore1

Robert Touzalin Reed1

1 - first year of eligibility
2 - second and final year of eligibility

1986 Hugo nominees.
1988 Hugo nominees.