1991 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

1991 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

Earth by David Brin (Bantam Spectra)

The Fall of Hyperion by Dan Simmons (Doubleday Foundation)

Queen of Angels by Greg Bear (Warner Books)

The Quiet Pools by Michael Kube-McDowell (Ace)

The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen Books)

Best Novella

"Bones" by Pat Murphy (Asimov's May 1990)

"Bully!" by Mike Resnick (Axolotl Press)

"Fool to Believe" by Pat Cadigan (Asimov's Feb 1990)

"The Hemingway Hoax" by Joe Haldeman (Asimov's Apr 1990)

"A Short, Sharp Shock" by Kim Stanley Robinson (Asimov's Nov 1990)

Best Novelette

"A Braver Thing" by Charles Sheffield (Asimov's Feb 1990)

"The Coon Rolled Down and Ruptured His Larinks, A Squeezed Novel by Mr. Skunk" by Dafydd ab Hugh (Asimov's Aug 1990)

"The Manamouki" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's Jul 1990)

"Over the Long Haul" by Martha Soukup (Amazing Mar 1990)

"Tower of Babylon" by Ted Chiang (Omni Nov 1990)

Best Short Story

"Bears Discover Fire" by Terry Bisson (Asimov's Jul 1990)

"Cibola" by Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec 1990)

"Godspeed" by Charles Sheffield (Analog Jul 1990)

"The Utility Man" by Robert Reed (Asimov's Nov 1990)

"VRM-547" by W.R. Thompson (Analog Feb 1990)

Best Non-Fiction Book

Bury My Heart at W.H. Smith's by Brian Aldiss (Averhus-limited edition, Hodder & Staughton-trade)

Hollywood Gothic by David J. Skal (Norton)

How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card (Writer's Digest Books)

Science Fiction in the Real World by Norman Spinrad (So. Illinois University Press)

SFWA Handbook Kristine Kathryn Rusch & Dean Smith, eds. (Writers Notebook Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation

Back to the Future 3 (Universal Studios)

Edward Scissorhands (20th Century Fox)

Ghost (Paramount)

Total Recall (Tristar/Columbia)

Witches (Warner Brothers)

Best Professional Editor

Ellen Datlow

Gardner Dozois

Edward L. Ferman

Kristine Kathryn Rusch

Stanley Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

Thomas Canty

David Cherry

Bob Eggleton

Don Maitz

Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine

Interzone (David Pringle, ed.)

Locus (Charles N. Brown, ed.)

New York Review of Science Fiction (David G. Hartwell, Kathryn Kramer, Gordon van Gelder, eds.)

Quantum (formerly Thrust - D. Douglas Fratz, ed.)

Science Fiction Chronicle (Andrew Porter, ed.)

Best Fanzine

File 770 (Mike Glyer, ed.)

FOSFAX (Janice Moore & Timothy Lane, eds.)

Lan's Lantern (George "Lan" Laskowski, ed.)

Mainstream (Jerry Kaufman & Suzanne Tompkins, eds.)

Mimosa (Dick & Nicki Lynch, eds.)

Best Fan Writer

Avedon Carol

Mike Glyer

Teresa Nielson Hayden

Arthur Hlavaty

David Langford

Evelyn C. Leeper

Best Fan Artist

Teddy Harvia

Merle Insinga

Peggy Ranson

Stu Shiffman

Diana Stein

John W. Campbell Award

Nancy A. Collins2

John Cramer2

Scott Cupp2

Julia Ecklar2

Michael Kandel2

1 - first year of eligibility
2 - second and final year of eligibility

1990 Hugo nominees.
1992 Hugo nominees.