2005 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugo Award Ceremony was held at Interaction on Sunday, August 7, 2005. Photos from Interaction. 2005 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

424 nominating ballots

The Algebraist by Iain M. Banks (Orbit)

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury)

River of Gods by Ian McDonald (Simon & Schuster)

Iron Council by China Miéville (Macmillan)

Iron Sunrise by Charles Stross (Orbit)

Best Novella

249 nominating ballots

"Winterfair Gifts" by Lois McMaster Bujold (Irresistible Forces NAL)

"Time Ablaze" by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 06/04)

"Sergeant Chip" by Bradley Denton (F&SF 09/04)

"The Concrete Jungle" by Charles Stross (The Atrocity Archives, Golden Gryphon)

"Elector" by Charles Stross (Asimov's 09/04)

Best Novelette

215 nominating ballots

"The People of Sand and Slag" by Paolo Bacigalupi (F&SF 02/04)

"The Clapping Hands of God" by Michael F. Flynn (Analog 07-08/04)

"The Faery Handbag" by Kelly Link (The Faery Reel Viking)

"Biographical Notes to 'A Discourse on the Nature of Causality, with Air-Planes' by Benjamin Rosenbaum" by Benjamin Rosenbaum (All-Star Zeppelin Adventure Stories Wheatland)

"The Voluntary State" by Christopher Rowe (Sci Fiction 5/5/04)

Best Short Story

269 nominating ballots

"Decisions" by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 01-02/04)

"The Best Christmas Ever" by James Patrick Kelly (Sci Fiction 5/26/04)

"A Princess of Earth" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 12/04)

"Travels with My Cats" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 02/04)

"Shed Skin" by Robert J. Sawyer (Analog 01-02/04)

Best Related Book

263 nominating ballots

Futures: 50 Years in Space by David A. Hardy & Patrick Moore (AAPPL/Harper Collins)

The Best of Xero by Richard & Pat Lupoff (Tachyon Publications)

The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction ed. by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)

Dancing Naked by William Tenn (NESFA Press)

With Stars in My Eyes: My Adventures in British Fandom by Peter Weston (NESFA Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation

340 nominating ballots

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (Focus Features) Story by Charlie Kaufman & Michael Gondry & Pierre Bismuth; Screenplay by Charlie Kaufman; Directed by Michael Gondry

Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azakaban (Warner Brothers) Written by Steve Kloves; Based on the novel by J.K. Rowling; Directed by Alfonso Cuarón.

The Incredibles (Walt Disney Pictures / Pixar Animation Studios) Written & Directed by Brad Bird

Sky Captain & The World of Tomorrow (Paramount Pictures) Written & Directed by Kerry Conran

Spider-Man 2 (Sony Pictures Entertainment / Columbia Pictures) Screen Story by Alfred Gough & Miles Millar & Michael Chabon; Screenplay by Alvin Sargent; Based on the comic book by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

161 nominating ballots

"Heroes" Part I & 2 - Stargate SG1 (MGM Television / The Sci Fi Channel) Written by Robert C. Cooper; Directed by Andy Mikita

"Not Fade Away" - Angel (20th Century Fox Television / Mutant Enemy) Written by Jeffrey Bell & Joss Whedon; Directed by Jeffrey Bell

Pilot Episode - Lost (Touchstone Television / Bad Robot) Story by Jeffrey Lieber & J.J. Abrams & Damon Lindelof; Teleplay by J.J. Abrams & Damon Lindelof; Directed by: J.J. Abrams

"Smile Time" - Angel (20th Century Fox Television / Mutant Enemy) Story by Joss Whedon & Ben Edlund; Teleplay by Ben Edlund; Directed by Ben Edlund

"33" - Battlestar Galactica (NBC Universal Television / The Sci Fi Channel) Written by Ronald D. Moore; Directed by Michael Rymer

Best Professional Editor

296 nominating ballots

Ellen Datlow

Gardner Dozois

David G. Hartwell

Stanley Schmidt

Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

232 nominating ballots

Jim Burns

Bob Eggleton

Frank Kelly Freas

Donato Giancola

John Picacio

Best Semiprozine

238 nominating ballots

Ansible, edited by Dave Langford

Interzone, edited by David Pringle & Andy Cox

Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall & Kirsten Gong-Wong

The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, David Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney

Third Alternative, ed. Andy Cox

Best Fanzine

218 nominating ballots

Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey & Mark Plummer

Challenger edited by Guy Lillian, III

Chunga edited by Randy Byers, Andy Hooper & Carl Juarez

Emerald City edited by Cheryl Morgan

Plokta edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer

241 nominating ballots

Claire Brialey

Bob Devney

Dave Langford

Cheryl Morgan

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

190 nominating ballots

Brad Foster

Teddy Harvia

Sue Mason

Steve Stiles

Frank Wu

Best Web Site

311 nominating ballots

eFanzines ed. by Bill Burns

Emerald City ed. by Cheryl Morgan

Locus Online ed. by Mark R. Kelly

SciFiction ed. by Ellen Datlow, Craig Engler, general manager

Strange Horizons Susan Marie Groppi, editor-in-chief

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

187 nominating ballots

Elizabeth Bear (2nd year of eligibility)

K. J. Bishop (1st year of eligibility)

David Moles (2nd year of eligibility)

Chris Roberson (1st year of eligibility)

Steph Swainston (1st year of eligibility)

2004 Hugo nominees.
2006 Hugo nominees.