1997 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugos were awarded on Saturday, August 30 at the Marriott River Center Hotel in San Antonio, Texas at LoneStarCon2. Neal Barrett, Jr. served as Master of Ceremonies. 1997 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

356 ballots cast

Memory by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

Remnant Population by Elizabeth Moon (Baen)

Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (HarperCollins Voyager; Bantam Spectra)

Starplex by Robert J. Sawyer

Holy Fire by Bruce Sterling

Best Novella

209 ballots cast

"Immersion" by Gregory Benford (SF Age 3/96)

"Blood of The Dragon" by George R. R. Martin (Asimov's 7/96)

"Time Travelers Never Die" by Jack McDevitt (Asimov's 5/96)

"The Cost to Be Wise" by Maureen F. McHugh (Starlight 1)

"Abandon in Place" by Jerry Oltion (F&SF 12/96)

"Gas Fish" by Mary Rosenblum (Asimov's 2/96)

Note: There are six nominees due to a tie vote.

Best Novelette

221 ballots cast

"Age of Aquarius" by William Barton (Asimov's 5/96)

"Beauty and the Opéra or the Phantom Beast" by Suzy McKee Charnas (Asimov's 3/96)

"Mountain Ways" by Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's 8/96)

"The Land of Nod" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 6/96)

"Bicycle Repairman" by Bruce Sterling (Intersections; Asimov's 10/96)

Best Short Story

254 ballots cast

"Gone" by John Crowley (F&SF 9/96)

"Decency" by Robert Reed (Asimov's 6/96)

"The Dead" by Michael Swanwick (Starlight 1)

"Un-Birthday Boy" by James White (Analog 2/96)

"The Soul Selects Her Own Society..." by Connie Willis (Asimov's 4/96; War of the Worlds: Global Dispatches)

Best Non-fiction Book

163 ballots cast

Look at the Evidence by John Clute (Serconia Press)

Time & Chance by L. Sprague de Camp (Grant)

The Silence of the Langford by Dave Langford (NESFA Press)

The Faces of Fantasy by Patti Perret (Tor)

The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones (Gollancz/Vista)

Best Dramatic Presentation

283 ballots cast

Independence Day (Centropolis Film Productions/20th Century Fox Film) Directed by Roland Emmerich, Written by Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich, Produced by Dean Devlin

Mars Attacks! (Warner Bros.) Directed by Tim Burton, Written by Jonathan Gems, Produced by Tim Burton & Larry Franco

Babylon 5 "Severed Dreams" (Warner Bros.) Directed by David J. Eagle, Written by J. Michael Straczynski, Produced by John Copeland

Star Trek: First Contact (Paramount Pictures) Directed by Jonathan Frakes, Story by Ronald D. Moore, Brannon Braga & Rick Berman, Screenplay by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga, Produced by Rick Berman

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine "Trials and Tribble-ations" (Paramount Pictures) Directed by Jonathan West, Written by Ronald D. Moore & Rene Echevarria, Story by Ira Steven Behr & Hans Beimler & Robert Hewitt Wolfe, Executive Producers Ira Steven Behr & Rick Berman. Based upon the original series Star Trek episode The Trouble with Tribbles by David Gerrold.

Note: Two Babylon 5 episodes, "War without End" and "Z'Ha'Dum," received enough votes to be nominated but J. Michael Straczynski declined.

Best Professional Editor

248 ballots cast

Gardner Dozois (Asimov's)

Scott Edelman (SF Age)

Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor)

Kristine Kathryn Rusch (F&SF)

Stanley Schmidt (Analog)

Best Professional Artist

226 ballots cast

Thomas Canty

David Cherry

Bob Eggleton

Don Maitz

Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine

223 ballots cast

Interzone (David Pringle, ed.)

Locus (Charles N. Brown, ed.)

The New York Review of Science Fiction (Kathryn Cramer, Tad Dembinski, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell and Kevin Maroney, eds.)

Science Fiction Chronicle (Andrew Porter, ed.)

Speculations (Kent Brewster, ed.)

Best Fanzine

224 ballots cast

Ansible (Dave Langford, ed.)

File 770 (Mike Glyer, ed.)

Mimosa (Dick & Nicki Lynch, ed.)

Nova Express (Lawrence Person, ed.)

Tangent (Dave Truesdale, ed.)

Best Fan Writer

202 ballots cast

Sharon Farber

Mike Glyer

Andy Hooper

Dave Langford

Evelyn C. Leeper

Best Fan Artist

177 ballots

Ian Gunn

Joe Mayhew

Peggy Ranson

William Rotsler


Note: Brad Foster and Teddy Harvia declined their nominations.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

156 ballots cast

Michael A. Burstein2

Raphael Carter1

Richard Garfinkle1

Katya Reimann1

Sharon Shinn2

1 - first year of eligibility
2 - second and final year of eligibility

1996 Hugo nominees.
1998 Hugo nominees.