1998 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The winners were announced on Friday, August 7th at Bucconeer in Baltimore, Maryland. Charles Sheffield served as Master of Ceremonies. 1998 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman (Ace)

Frameshift by Robert J. Sawyer (Tor)

The Rise of Endymion by Dan Simmons (Bantam Spectra)

Jack Faust by Michael Swanwick (Avon)

City on Fire by Walter Jon Williams (HarperPrism)

Best Novella

"The Funeral March of the Marionettes" by Adam-Troy Castro (F&SF July 1997)

"Ecopoeisis" by Geoffrey A. Landis (SF Age May 1997)

"Loose Ends" by Paul Levinson (Analog May 1997)

"Marrow" by Robert Reed (SF Age July 1997)

"...Where Angels Fear To Tread" by Allen Steele (Asimov's October-November 1997)

Best Novelette

"Moon Six" by Stephen Baxter (SF Age March 1997)

"Broken Symmetry" by Michael A. Burstein (Analog February 1997)

"Three Hearings on the Existence of Snakes in the Human Bloodstream" by James Alan Gardner (Asimov's February 1997)

"We Will Drink A Fish Together..." by Bill Johnson (Asimov's May 1997)

"The Undiscovered" by William Sanders (Asimov's March 1997)

Best Short Story

"Beluthahatchie" by Andy Duncan (Asimov's March 1997)

"Standing Room Only" by Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov's August 1997)

"Itsy Bitsy Spider" by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's June 1997)

"The 43 Antarean Dynasties" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's December 1997)

"The Hand You're Dealt" by Robert J. Sawyer (Free Space, Tor)

"No Planets Strike" by Gene Wolfe (F&SF January 1997) (There are six items due to a tie for fifth place)

Best Non-fiction Book

Space Travel by Ben Bova with Anthony R. Lewis (Writer's Digest Books)

The Encyclopedia of Fantasy edited by John Clute & John Grant (St. Martin's Press)

Infinite Worlds by Vincent DiFate (Penguin Studio)

Spectrum IV: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art edited by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner with Jim Loehr (Underwood Books)

Reflections and Refractions: Thoughts on Science-Fiction, Science and Other Matters by Robert Silverberg (Underwood Books)

Best Dramatic Presentation

Contact (Warner Bros./South Side Amusement Company) Directed by Robert Zemeckis; Story by Carl Sagan and Ann Druyan; Screenplay by James V. Hart and Michael Goldenberg; Produced by Steve Starkey & Robert Zemeckis.

The Fifth Element (Columbia Pictures/Gaumont) Directed by Luc Besson; Story by Luc Besson; Screenplay by Luc Besson & Robert Mark Kamen; Produced by Patrice Ledoux.

Gattaca (Columbia Pictures Corporation/Jersey Films) Directed by Andrew M. Niccol, Written by Andrew M. Niccol, Produced by Danny DeVito, Michael Shamberg, & Stacey Sher.

Men in Black (MacDonald-Parkes/Columbia Pictures Corporation/Amblin Entertainment) Directed by Barry Sonnenfeld; Screenplay by Ed Solomon, Laurie MacDonald and Walter F. Parkes; Executive Producer: Steven Spielberg.

Starship Troopers (TriStar Pictures/Big Bug Pictures/Touchstone Pictures) Directed by Paul Verhoeven, Screenplay by Ed Neumeier; Produced by Jon Davison & Alan Marshall.

Best Professional Editor

Gardner Dozois (Asimov's)

Scott Edelman (SF Age)

David Hartwell (Tor; Year's Best SF)

Stanley Schmidt (Analog)

Gordon Van Gelder (F&SF)

Best Professional Artist

Jim Burns

Thomas Canty

David Cherry

Bob Eggleton

Don Maitz

Michael Whelan

(There are six items due to a tie for fifth place)

Best Semiprozine

Interzone edited by David Pringle

Locus edited by Charles N. Brown

The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell & Kevin Maroney

Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew Porter

Speculations edited by Kent Brewster

Best Fanzine

Ansible edited by Dave Langford

Attitude edited by Michael Abbott, John Dallman & Pam Wells

File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Mimosa edited by Nicki & Richard Lynch

Tangent edited by David Truesdale

Best Fan Writer

Bob Devney

Mike Glyer

Andy Hooper

David Langford

Evelyn Leeper

Joseph T. Major

(There are six nominees due to a tie for fifth place)

Best Fan Artist

Brad Foster

Ian Gunn

Teddy Harvia

Joe Mayhew

Peggy Ranson

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

Raphael Carter2

Andy Duncan2 sample story

Richard Garfinkle2

Susan R. Matthews2

2 - second and final year of eligibility

1997 Hugo nominees.
1999 Hugo nominees.