2010 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugo Award Ceremony was held on Sunday, September 5 at Aussiecon 4.

A total of 864 nominating ballots were cast.

Best Novel (699 ballots)

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)

The City & The City by China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK)

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest (Tor)

Wake by Robert J. Sawyer (Ace; Penguin; Gollancz; Analog)

Palimpsest by Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)

Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America by Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Best Novella (375 ballots cast)

The Women of Nell Gwynne's by Kage Baker (Subterranean)

"Act One" by Nancy Kress (Asimov's 3/09)

"Vishnu at the Cat Circus" by Ian McDonald (Cyberabad Days; Pyr, Gollancz)

Shambling Towards Hiroshima by James Morrow (Tachyon)

The God Engines by John Scalzi (Subterranean)

"Palimpsest" by Charles Stross (Wireless; Ace, Orbit)

Best Novelette (402 ballots cast)

"One of Our Bastards is Missing" by Paul Cornell (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction: Volume Three, Solaris)

"Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast" by Eugie Foster (Interzone 2/09)

"It Takes Two" by Nicola Griffith (Eclipse Three, Night Shade Books)

"Overtime" by Charles Stross (Tor.com 12/09)

"Eros, Philia, Agape by Rachel Swirsky (Tor.com 3/09)

"The Island" by Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2 Eos)

Best Short Story (432 ballots cast)

"The Bride of Frankenstein" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 12/09)

"Bridesicle" by Will McIntosh (Asimov's 1/09)

"The Moment" by Lawrence M. Schoen (Footprints, Hadley Rille Books)

"Non-Zero Probabilities" by N.K. Jemisin (Clarkesworld 9/09)

"Spar" by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 10/09)

Best Related Book (259 ballots cast)

Canary Fever: Reviews by John Clute (Beccon)

The Inter-Galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children's and Teens' Science Fiction by Farah Mendlesohn (McFarland)

On Joanna Russ by Farah Mendlesohn (ed.) (Wesleyan)

The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of SF Feminisms by Helen Merrick (Aqueduct)

Hope-In-The-Mist: The Extraordinary Career and Mysterious Life of Hope Mirrlees by Michael Swanwick (Temporary Culture)

This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is "I") by Jack Vance (Subterranean)

Best Graphic Story (221 ballots cast)

Batman: Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader? Written by Neil Gaiman; Pencilled by Andy Kubert; Inked by Scott Williams (DC Comics)

Captain Britain And MI13. Volume 3: Vampire State Written by Paul Cornell; Pencilled by Leonard Kirk with Mike Collins, Adrian Alphona and Ardian Syaf (Marvel Comics)

Fables Vol 12: The Dark Ages Written by Bill Willingham; Pencilled by Mark Buckingham; Art by Peter Gross & Andrew Pepoy, Michael Allred, David Hahn; Colour by Lee Loughridge & Laura Allred; Letters by Todd Klein (Vertigo Comics)

Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm Written by Kaja and Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Schlock Mercenary: The Longshoreman of the Apocalypse Written and Illustrated by Howard Tayler

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (541 ballots cast)

Avatar Screenplay and Directed by James Cameron (Twentieth Century Fox)

District 9 Screenplay by Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell; Directed by Neill Blomkamp (TriStar Pictures)

Moon Screenplay by Nathan Parker; Story by Duncan Jones; Directed by Duncan Jones (Liberty Films)

Star Trek Screenplay by Robert Orci & Alex Kurtzman; Directed by J.J. Abrams (Paramount)

Up Screenplay by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; Story by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter & Thomas McCarthy; Directed by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter (Disney/Pixar)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (282 ballots cast)

Doctor Who: "The Next Doctor" Written by Russell T Davies; Directed by Andy Goddard (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: "Planet of the Dead" Written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts; Directed by James Strong (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: "The Waters of Mars" Written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; Directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales)

Dollhouse: "Epitaph 1?" Story by Joss Whedon; Written by Maurissa Tancharoen & Jed Whedon; Directed by David Solomon (Mutant Enemy)

FlashForward: "No More Good Days" Written by Brannon Braga & David S. Goyer; Directed by David S. Goyer; based on the novel by Robert J. Sawyer (ABC)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form (289 ballots cast)

Lou Anders

Ginjer Buchanan

Liz Gorinsky

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Juliet Ulman

Best Professional Editor, Short Form (419 ballots cast)

Ellen Datlow

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Gordon Van Gelder

Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist (327 ballots cast)

Daniel Dos Santos

Bob Eggleton

Stephan Martiniere

John Picacio

Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine (337 ballots cast)

Ansible, edited by Dave Langford

Clarkesworld Magazine, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, Cheryl Morgan

Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi

Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine (298 ballots cast)

Argentus, edited by Steven H Silver

Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Challenger, edited by Guy Lillian III

The Drink Tank, edited by Chris Garcia, with guest editor James Bacon

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Starship Sofa, edited by Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer (319 ballots cast)

Claire Brialey

Chris Garcia

James Nicoll

Lloyd Penney

Frederik Pohl

Best Fan Artist (199 ballots cast)

Brad W. Foster

Dave Howell

Sue Mason

Steve Stiles

Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (356 ballots cast)

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

Saladin Ahmed

Gail Carriger

Felix Gilman *

Seanan McGuire

Lezli Robyn *

* Second year of eligibility

2009 Hugo nominees * * 2011 Hugo nominees * *