2011 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugo Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, August 20 at Renovation. Hugo Winners

Over 1,000 nominating ballots were cast.

Best Novel

Cryoburn by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

Feed by Mira Grant (Orbit)

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

The Dervish House by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)

Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)

Best Novella

The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang (Subterranean)

"The Maiden Flight of McCauley's Bellerophon" by Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)

"The Sultan of the Clouds" by Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov's, September 2010)

"Troika" by Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)

"The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen's Window" by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)

Best Novelette

"The Jaguar House, in Shadow" by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov's, July 2010)

"Plus or Minus" by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's, December 2010)

"Eight Miles" by Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)

"The Emperor of Mars" by Allen M. Steele (Asimov's, June 2010)

"That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made" by Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)

Best Short Story

"Ponies" by Kij Johnson (Tor.com, November 17, 2010)

"For Want of a Nail" by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov's, September 2010)

"Amaryllis" by Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)

"The Things" by Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)

Best Related Book

Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve, by William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor)

"The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing, by Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland)

"Writing Excuses, Season 4," by Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells

Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001, by Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)

Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O'Shea (Mad Norwegian)

Best Graphic Story

The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man, written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

Grandville Mon Amour, by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)

Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)

Fables: Witches, written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner)

How to Train Your Dragon, screenplay by William Davies, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (DreamWorks)

Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; directed by Edgar Wright (Universal)

Toy Story 3, screenplay by Michael Arndt; story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; directed by Lee Unkrich (Pixar/Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Doctor Who, "A Christmas Carol," written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who, "The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang," written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who. "Vincent and the Doctor," written by Richard Curtis; directed by Jonny Campbell (BBC Wales)

"Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury," written by Rachel Bloom; directed by Paul Briganti

"The Lost Thing," written by Shaun Tan; directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (Passion Pictures)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form

Lou Anders

Ginjer Buchanan

Moshe Feder

Liz Gorinsky

Nick Mamatas

Beth Meacham

Juliet Ulman

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

John Joseph Adams

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Gordon Van Gelder

Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist

Daniel Dos Santos

Bob Eggleton

Stephan Martiniere

John Picacio

Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine

Clarkesworld Magazine, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, Cheryl Morgan; podcast directed by Kate Baker

Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams

Locus, edited by Kirsten Gong-Wong & Liza Groen Trombi

Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine

Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Challenger, edited by Guy Lillian III

The Drink Tank, edited by Chris Garcia, with guest editor James Bacon

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Starship Sofa, edited by Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer

James Bacon

Claire Brialey

Christopher J. Garcia

James Nicoll

Stephen H Silver

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster

Randall Munroe

Maurine Starkey

Steve Stiles

Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

Saladin Ahmed

Lauren Beukes

Larry Correia

Lev Grossman

Dan Wells

Note: All Campbell finalists are in their 2nd year of eligibility.

2010 Hugo nominees* * 2012 Hugo nominees