2012 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugo Award Ceremony were held on Sunday, September 2 at Chicon 7. Hugo Winners.

1,101 nominating ballots were cast.

Best Novel (932 ballots)

Leviathan Wakes, by James S. A. Corey (Orbit)

Deadline, by Mira Grant (Orbit)

A Dance With Dragons, by George R. R. Martin (Bantam Spectra)

Embassytown, by China Miéville (Macmillan/Del Rey)

Among Others, by Jo Walton (Tor)

Best Novella (473 ballots)

"The Ice Owl" by Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

Countdown, by Mira Grant (Orbit)

"The Man Who Bridged the Mist" by Kij Johnson (Asimov's)

"Kiss Me Twice" by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov's)

"The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary" by Ken Liu (Panverse 3)

Silently and Very Fast by Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA)

Best Novelette (499 ballots)

"Six Months, Three Days" by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor.com)

"The Copenhagen Interpretation" by Paul Cornell (Asimov's)

"What We Found" by Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

"Fields of Gold" by Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse Four)

"Ray of Light" by Brad R. Torgersen (Analog)

Best Short Story (593 ballots)

"Movement" by Nancy Fulda (Asimov's)

"The Paper Menagerie" by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

"The Homecoming" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's)

"Shadow War of the Night Dragons: Book One: The Dead City: Prologue" by John Scalzi (Tor.com)

"The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees" by E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld)

Best Related Book (461 ballots)

The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition, edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls & Graham Sleight (Gollancz)

Jar Jar Binks Must Die...and other Observations about Science Fiction Movies, by Daniel M. Kimmel (Fantastic Books)

Wicked Girls, by Seanan McGuire

Writing Excuses, Season 6, by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Howard Tayler, Mary Robinette Kowal & Jordan Sanderson

The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature, by Jeff VanderMeer & S. J. Chambers (Abrams Image)

Best Graphic Story (339 ballots)

The Unwritten (Volume 4): Leviathan, created by Mike Carey & Peter Gross. Written by Mike Carey, illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Locke & Key Volume 4, Keys To The Kingdom, written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)

Schlock Mercenary: Force Multiplication, written & illustrated by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (The Tayler Corporation)

Digger, by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press)

Fables Vol 15: Rose Red, by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (592 ballots)

Captain America: The First Avenger, Christopher Markus & Stephan McFeely, screenplay; Joe Johnston, director (Marvel)

Game of Thrones (Season 1), David Benioff & D. B. Weiss, creators; David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson & George R. R. Martin, writers; Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten & Alan Taylor, directors (HBO)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, Steve Kloves, screenplay; David Yates, director (Warner Bros.)

Hugo, John Logan, screenplay; Martin Scorsese, director (Paramount)

Source Code, Ben Ripley, screenplay; Duncan Jones, director (Vendome Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (512 ballots)

"The Doctor's Wife" (Doctor Who) Neil Gaiman, writer; Richard Clark, director (BBC Wales)

The Drink Tank's Hugo Acceptance Speech, Christopher J Garcia & James Bacon (Renovation)

"The Girl Who Waited" (Doctor Who) Tom MacRae, writer; Nick Hurran, director (BBC Wales)

"A Good Man Goes to War" (Doctor Who) Steven Moffat, writer; Peter Hoar, director (BBC Wales)

"Remedial Chaos Theory" (Community) Dan Harmon & Chris McKenna, writers; Jeff Melman, director (NBC)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form (358 ballots)

Lou Anders

Liz Gorinsky

Anne Lesley Groell

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Betsy Wollheim

Best Professional Editor, Short Form (512 ballots)

John Joseph Adams

Neil Clarke

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist (399 ballots)

Daniel Dos Santos

Bob Eggleton

Michael Komarck

Stephan Martiniere

John Picacio

Best Semiprozine (357 ballots)

Apex Magazine, edited by Catherynne M. Valente, Lynne M. Thomas & Jason Sizemore

Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams

Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.

New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by David G. Hartwell, Kevin J. Maroney, Kris Dikeman & Avram Grumer

Best Fanzine (322 ballots)

Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey & Mark Plummer

The Drink Tank, edited by James Bacon & Christopher J Garcia

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, et al.

SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo

Best Fancast (326 ballots)

The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe

Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce & Tansy Rayner Roberts (presenters) & Andrew Finch (producer)

SF Signal Podcast, John DeNardo & JP Frantz, produced by Patrick Hester

SF Squeecast, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear & Catherynne M. Valente

StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer (360 ballots)

James Bacon

Claire Brialey

Christopher J. Garcia

Jim C. Hines

Stephen H Silver

Best Fan Artist (216 ballots)

Brad W. Foster

Randall Munroe

Spring Schoenhuth

Maurine Starkey

Steve Stiles

Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (396 ballots)

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

Mur Lafferty

Stina Leicht

Karen Lord*

Brad R. Torgersen*

E. Lily Yu

* 2nd year of eligibility

2011 Hugo nominees * * 2013 Hugo nominees