International Fantasy Award, 1950s

Site Map for AwardWeb

The International Fantasy Awards were given out in 1951--1955 and in 1957. The IFA were awarded annually for best sf or fantasy book and best non-fiction book of interest to sf readers. The IFA was given by an international panel of prominent sf fans and pros; one of the panel members in the early Fifties was even a Swede, so these guys really worked at finding judges from all over. And the coice of winners was impressive; the fiction they picked was:

1951: Earth Abides by George R. Stewart
1952: Fancies And Goodnights by John Collier
1953: City by Clifford D Simak, Non-fiction award - Lands Beyond by L. Sprague de Camp & Willy Ley
1954: More Than Human by Theodore Sturgeon
1955: A Mirror for Observers by Edgar Pangborn
1957: Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien