2008 World Fantasy Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The 2008 winners were announced at the World Fantasy Convention in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Best Novel

Territory by Emma Bull [Tor]

Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay [Viking Canada/Penguin Roc]

Fangland by John Marks [Penguin Press]

Gospel of the Knife by Will Shetterly [Tor]

The Servants by Michael Marshall Smith [Earthling Publications]

Best Novella

The Mermaids by Robert Edric [PS Publishing]

Illyria by Elizabeth Hand [PS Publishing]

"The Master Miller's Tale" by Ian R. MacLeod [F&SF, May 2007]

"Cold Snap" by Kim Newman [The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club, MonkeyBrain Books]

"Stars Seen through Stone" by Lucius Shepard [F&SF, July 2007]

Best Short Fiction

"The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics" by Daniel Abraham [Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra]

"Singing of Mount Abora" by Theodora Goss [Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra]

"The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs of North Park After the Change" by Kij Johnson [The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, Viking]

"Damned if you Don't" by Robert Shearman [Tiny Deaths, Comma Press]

"The Church on the Island" by Simon Kurt Unsworth [At Ease with the Dead, Ash-Tree Press]

Best Anthology

Five Strokes to Midnight edited by Gary A. Braunbeck & Hank Schwaeble, Eds. [Haunted Pelican Press]

Wizards: Magical Tales From The Masters of Modern Fantasy edited by Jack Dann & Gardner Dozois, Eds. [Berkley]

Inferno: New Tales of Terror and the Supernatural edited by Ellen Datlow, Editor [Tor]

The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Eds.[Viking]

Logorrhea: Good Words Make Good Stories edited by John Klima, Editor [Bantam Spectra]

Best Collection

Plots and Misadventures by Stephen Gallagher [Subterranean Press]

Portable Childhoods by Ellen Klages [Tachyon Publications]

The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club by Kim Newman [MonkeyBrain Books]

Hart & Boot & Other Stories by Tim Pratt [Night Shade Books]

Tiny Deaths by Robert Shearman [Comma Press]

Dagger Key and Other Stories by Lucius Shepard [PS Publishing]

Best Artist

Ruan Jia

Mikko Kinnunen

Stephan Martiniere

Edward Miller

John Picacio

Special Award: Professional

Allison Baker and Chris Roberson for MonkeyBrain Books

Alan Beatts and Jude Feldman for Borderlands Books

Peter Crowther for PS Publishing

Gordon Van Gelder for F&SF

Jeremy Lassen and Jason Williams for Night Shade Books

Shawna McCarthy for Realms of Fantasy

Special Award: Non-Professional

Midori Snyder and Terri Windling for Endicott Studios Website

G. S. Evans and Alice Whittenburg for Cafe Irreal

Stephen Jones, Editor for Travellers in Darkness: The Souvenir Book of the World Horror Convention 2007

John Klima for Electric Velocipede

Rosalie Parker and Raymond Russell for Tartarus Press

Life Achievement

Leo & Diane Dillon and Patricia McKillip