2007 World Fantasy Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The 2007 winners were announced at the World Fantasy Convention in Saratoga Springs, New York on November 4, 2007.

Best Novel

Lisey's Story by Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton)

The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner (Bantam Spectra; Small Beer Press)

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (Gollancz; Bantam Spectra)

The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)

Soldier of Sidon by Gene Wolfe (Tor)

Best Novella

"Botch Town" by Jeffrey Ford (The Empire of Ice Cream, Golden Gryphon)

"The Man Who Got Off the Ghost Train" by Kim Newman (The Man from the Diogenes Club, MonkeyBrain)

"Dark Harvest" by Norman Partridge (Cemetery Dance)

"Map of Dreams" by M. Rickert (Map of Dreams, Golden Gryphon)

"The Lineaments of Gratified Desire" by Ysabeau S. Wilce (F&SF 7/06)

Best Short Fiction

"The Way He Does It" by Jeffrey Ford (Electric Velocipede 10 Spring '06)

"Journey Into the Kingdom" by M. Rickert (F&SF 5/06)

"A Siege of Cranes" by Benjamin Rosenbaum (Twenty Epics, All-Star Stories)

"Another Word for Map Is Faith" by Christopher Rowe (F&SF 8/06)

"Pol Pot's Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)" by Geoff Ryman (F&SF 10-11/06)

Best Anthology

Cross Plains Universe: Texans Celebrate Robert E. Howard Scott A. Cupp & Joe R. Lansdale, eds. (MonkeyBrain and the Fandom Association of Central Texas)

Salon Fantastique Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Thunder's Mouth)

Retro Pulp Tales Joe R. Lansdale, ed. (Subterranean)

Twenty Epics David Moles & Susan Marie Groppi, eds. (All-Star Stories)

Firebirds Rising Sharyn November, ed. (Firebird)

Best Collection

The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury)

The Empire of Ice Cream by Jeffrey Ford (Golden Gryphon)

American Morons by Glen Hirshberg (Earthling)

Red Spikes by Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin Australia; Knopf)

Map of Dreams by M. Rickert (Golden Gryphon)

Best Artist

Jon Foster

Edward Miller

John Picacio

Shaun Tan

Jill Thompson

Special Award: Professional

Ellen Asher (For work at SFBC)

Mark Finn (for Blood & Thunder: The Life of Robert E. Howard, MonkeyBrain)

Deanna Hoak for copyediting

Greg Ketter for DreamHaven

Leonard S. Marcus, ed. (for The Wand in the Word: Conversations with Writers of Fantasy, Candlewick)

Special Award: Non-Professional

Leslie Howle (for her work at Clarion West)

Leo Grin (for The Cimmerian)

Susan Marie Groppi (for Strange Horizons)

John Klima (for Electric Velocipede)

Gary K. Wolfe (for reviews and criticism in Locus and elsewhere)