2000 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The winners were announced at Chicon. Photos from Chicon. 2000 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

Darwin's Radio by Greg Bear (HarperCollins UK; Del Rey)

A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson (Avon)

A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge (Tor) (Bloomsbury; Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic Press)

Best Novella

"Son Observe the Time" by Kage Baker (Asimov's 5/99)

"The Astronaut From Wyoming" by Adam-Troy Castro & Jerry Oltion (Analog 7-8/99)

"Hunting the Snark" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 12/99)

"Forty, Counting Down" by Harry Turtledove (Asimov's 12/99)

"The Winds of Marble Arch" by Connie Willis (Asimov's 10-11/99)

Best Novelette

"Stellar Harvest" by Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's 4/99)

"Border Guards" by Greg Egan (Interzone 10/99)

"The Secret History of the Ornithopter" by Jan Lars Jensen (F&SF 6/99)

"1016 to 1" by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's 6/99)

"The Chop Girl" by Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov's 12/99)

"Fossil Games" by Tom Purdom (Asimov's 2/99)

Best Short Story

"macs" by Terry Bisson (F&SF 10-11/99)

"Sarajevo" by Nick DiChario (F&SF 3/99)

"Hothouse Flowers" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 10-11/99)

"Ancient Engines" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 2/99)

"Scherzo with Tyrannosaur" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 7/99)

Best Non-fiction Book

Minicon 34 Restaurant Guide by Karen Cooper and Bruce Schneier (Rune Press)

Spectrum 6: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art edited by Cathy and Arnie Fenner (Underwood)

The Sandman: The Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman and Yoshitaka Amano (DC Comics/Vertigo)

The Science of Discworld by Terry Pratchett, Ian Stewart, and Jack Cohen (Ebury Press)

Science Fiction of the 20th Century: An Illustrated History by Frank M. Robinson (Collectors Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation

Being John Malkovich (Single Cell Pictures/Gramercy Pictures/Propaganda Films) Directed by Spike Jonze; Written by Charlie Kaufman

Galaxy Quest (DreamWorks SKG) Directed by Dean Parisot; Story by David Howard; Screenplay by David Howard & Robert Gordon

The Iron Giant (Warner Bros. Animation) Directed by Brad Bird; Book by Ted Hughes; Screenplay by Brad Bird & Tim McCanlies

The Matrix (Village Roadshow Productions/Groucho II Film Partnership/Silver Pictures) Directed by Andy & Larry Wachowski; Written by Andy & Larry Wachowski

The Sixth Sense (Spyglass Entertainment/Hollywood Pictures) Directed by M. Night Shyamalan; Written by M. Night Shyamalan

Best Professional Editor

Gardner Dozois

David G. Hartwell

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Stanley Schmidt

Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

Jim Burns

Bob Eggleton

Donato Giancola

Don Maitz

Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine

Interzone edited by David Pringle

Locus edited by Charles N. Brown

The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell & Kevin Maroney

Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew Porter

Speculations edited by Kent Brewster

Best Fanzine

Ansible edited by Dave Langford

Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III

File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Mimosa edited by Nicki & Richard Lynch

Plokta edited by Alison Scott & Steve Davies

Best Fan Writer

Bob Devney

Mike Glyer

David Langford

Evelyn Leeper

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

Freddie Baer

Brad Foster

Teddy Harvia

Joe Mayhew

Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

Cory Doctorow (2nd year of eligibility)

Thomas Harlan (1st year of eligibility)

Ellen Klages (2nd year of eligibility)

Kristine Smith (1st year of eligibility)

Shane Tourtellotte (2nd year of eligibility)

1999 Hugo nominees.
2001 Hugo nominees.