2003 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugo Award Ceremony was held at Torcon III on Saturday, August 30, 2003. Photos from Torcon. 2003 Hugo Winners.

Best Novel

621 ballots cast for 219 novels)

Kiln People by David Brin (Tor)

The Scar by China Miťville (Macmillan; Del Rey)

The Years of Rice and Salt by Kim Stanley Robinson (Bantam)

Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer (Analog; Tor)

Bones of the Earth by Michael Swanwick (Eos)

Best Novella

374 ballots cast for 65 novellas)

"Bronte's Egg" by Richard Chwedyk (F&SF 8/02)

A Year in the Linear City by Paul Di Filippo (PS Publishing)

"The Political Officer" by Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF 4/02)

"In Spirit" by Pat Forde (Analog 9/02)

Coraline by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)

"Breathmoss" by Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov's 5/02)

Best Novelette

377 ballots cast for 149 novelettes)

"Madonna of the Maquiladora" by Gregory Frost (Asimov's)

"The Wild Girls" by Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's 3/02)

"Presence" by Maureen F. McHugh (F&SF 3/02)

"Halo" by Charles Stross (Asimov's 6/02)

"Slow Life" by Michael Swanwick (Analog 12/02)

Best Short Story

400 ballots cast for 263 short stories)

"Creation" by Jeffrey Ford (F&SF 5/02)

"Lambing Season" by Molly Gloss (Asimov's 7/02)

"Falling Onto Mars" by Geoffrey A. Landis (Analog 7-8/02)

"'Hello,' Said the Stick" by Michael Swanwick (Analog 3/02)

"The Little Cat Laughed to See Such Sport" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 10-11/02)

Best Non-fiction Book

262 ballots cast for 83 related books)

Dragonhenge by Bob Eggleton and John Grant (Paper Tiger)

Spectrum 9: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy Fenner and Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood Books)

The Battle of the Sexes in Science Fiction Justine Larbalestier (Wesleyan University Press)

Better to Have Loved: The Life of Judith Merril Judith Merril and Emily Pohl-Weary (Between the Lines)

Ray Bradbury: An Illustrated Life Jerry Weist (Morrow)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

284 ballots cast for 176 presentations)

Angel, "Waiting in the Wings" (20th Century Fox Television/Mutant Enemy Inc.)
Directed by Joss Whedon; Teleplay by Joss Whedon

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, "Conversations With Dead People" (20th Century Fox Television/Mutant Enemy Inc.)
Directed by Nick Marck; Teleplay by Jane Espenson & Drew Goddard

Firefly, "Serenity" (20th Century Fox Television/Mutant Enemy Inc.)
Directed by Joss Whedon; Teleplay by Joss Whedon

Star Trek: Enterprise, "Carbon Creek" (Paramount Television)
Directed by James Contner; Story by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga and Dan O'Shannon; Teleplay by Chris Black

Star Trek: Enterprise, "A Night in Sickbay" (Paramount Television)
Directed by David Straiton; Teleplay by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga

Best Dramatic Presentation

529 ballots cast for 59 presentations)

Harry Potter and the Chambers of Secrets

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

Minority Report


Spirited Away

Best Professional Editor

399 ballots cast for 89 editors)

Ellen Datlow

Gardner Dozois

David G. Hartwell

Stanley Schmidt

Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

344 ballots cast for 141 artists)

Jim Burns

David A. Cherry

Bob Eggleton

Frank Kelly Freas

Donato Giancola

Best Semiprozine

314 ballots cast for 47 magazines)

Ansible, edited by Dave Langford

Interzone, edited by David Pringle

Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall and Kirsten Gong-Wong

The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, David Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney

Speculations, edited by Kent Brewster

Best Fanzine

289 ballots cast for 144 magazines)

Challenger edited by Guy Lillian, III

Emerald City edited by Cheryl Morgan

File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Mimosa edited by Rich & Nicki Lynch

Plokta edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer

315 ballots cast for 144 writers)

Bob Devney

John L. Flynn

Mike Glyer

Dave Langford

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

243 ballots cast for 76 artists)

Brad Foster

Teddy Harvia

Sue Mason

Steve Stiles

Frank Wu

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

259 ballots cast for 93 writers

Charles Coleman Finlay (2nd year of eligibility)

David D. Levine (1st year of eligibility)

Karin Lowachee (1st year of eligibility)

Wen Spencer (2nd year of eligibility)

Ken Wharton (2nd year of eligibility)

2002 Hugo nominees.
2004 Hugo nominees.