2002 Hugo Award Nominations

Site Map for AwardWeb

The Hugo Award Ceremony was held at ConJosé at the Con Jose Civic Auditorium on Sunday, September 1, 2002. Photos from ConJosé. 2002 Hugo winners.

Best Novel

486 ballots cast)

The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold (HarperCollins/Eos)

American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Morrow)

Perdido Street Station by China Miéville (Macmillan (UK)(2000); Del Rey)

Cosmonaut Keep by Ken MacLeod (Orbit (UK)(2000); Tor)

Passage by Connie Willis (Bantam)

The Chronoliths by Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Best Novella

300 ballots cast)

"May Be Some Time" by Brenda W. Clough (Analog 4/01)

"The Diamond Pit" by Jack Dann (Jubilee, HarperCollins/Voyager Australia; F&SF 6/01)

"The Chief Designer" by Andy Duncan (Asimov's 6/01)

"Stealing Alabama" by Allen Steele (Asimov's 1/01)

"Fast Times at Fairmont High" by Vernor Vinge (The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge, Tor)

Best Novelette

292 ballots cast)

"Hell Is the Absence of God" by Ted Chiang (Starlight 3, Tor)

"Undone" by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's 6/01)

"The Days Between" by Allen Steele (Asimov's 3/01)

"Lobsters" by Charles Stross (Asimov's 6/01)

"The Return of Spring" by Shane Tourtellotte (Analog 11/01)

Best Short Story

331 ballots cast)

"The Ghost Pit" by Stephen Baxter (Asimov's 7/01)

"Spaceships" by Michael A. Burstein (Analog 6/01)

"The Bones of the Earth" by Ursula K. Le Guin (Tales from Earthsea, Harcourt)

"Old MacDonald Had a Farm" by Mike Resnick (Asimov's 9/01)

"The Dog Said Bow-Wow" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 10-11/01)

Best Non-fiction Book

252 ballots cast)

The Art of Richard Powers by Jane Frank (Paper Tiger)

Meditations on Middle-Earth by Karen Haber, ed. (St. Martin's Press/A Byron Preiss Book)

The Art of Chesley Bonestell by Ron Miller & Frederick C. Durant III with Melvin H. Schuetz (Paper Tiger)

I Have This Nifty Idea...Now What Do I Do With It? by Mike Resnick (Wildside Press)

J. R. R. Tolkien: Author of the Century by Tom Shippey (HarperCollins (UK)(2000); Houghton Mifflin)

Being Gardner Dozois by Michael Swanwick (Old Earth Books)

Best Dramatic Presentation

452 ballots cast)

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Monsters, Inc.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer "Once More, With Feeling"


Best Professional Editor

382 ballots cast)

Ellen Datlow

Gardner Dozois

Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Stanley Schmidt

Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

323 ballots cast)

Jim Burns

Bob Eggleton

Frank Kelly Freas

Donato Giancola

Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine

283 ballots cast)

Absolute Magnitude, edited by Warren Lapine

Interzone, edited by David Pringle

Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown

The New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by Kathryn Cramer, David Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney

Speculations, edited by Susan Fry, published by Kent Brewster

Best Fanzine

237 ballots cast)

Ansible, edited by Dave Langford

Challenger edited by Guy Lillian, III

File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Mimosa edited by Nicki & Richard Lynch

Plokta edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer

248 ballots cast)

Jeff Berkwits

Bob Devney

John L. Flynn

Mike Glyer

Dave Langford

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

177 ballots cast)

Sheryl Birkhead

Brad Foster

Teddy Harvia

Sue Mason

Frank Wu

Best Web Site

365 ballots cast)

Locus Online, Mark R. Kelly editor/webmaster

SciFi.com, Craig Engler, executive producer

SF Site, Rodger Turner, publisher/managing editor

Strange Horizons, Mary Anne Mohanraj, editor-in-chief

Tangent Online, Dave Truesdale, senior editor; Tobias Buckell, webmaster

Each Worldcon has the right to add one special category, good only for that year and not binding upon any future Worldcon committees. ConJose awarded a Hugo for Best Web Site.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Sponsored by Dell Magazines

272 ballots cast

Tobias S. Buckell (2nd year of eligibility)

Alexander C. Irvine (2nd year of eligibility)

Wen Spencer (1st year of eligibility)

Jo Walton (2nd year of eligibility)

Ken Wharton (1st year of eligibility)

2000 Hugo nominees.
2003 Hugo nominees.