2000 World Fantasy Awards

Site Map for AwardWeb

The winners were announced at the World Fantasy Convention in Texas.

Best Novel

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson (Bantam)

The Rainy Season by James P. Blaylock (Ace)

A Red Heart of Memories by Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Ace)

Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle (Roc)

Thraxas by Martin Scott (Orbit)

A Witness To Life by Terence M. Green (Tor Forge)

Best Novella

"Crocodile Rock" by Lucius Shepard (F&SF 10-11/99)

"Scarlet and Gold" by Tanith Lee (Weird Tales, Summer 2000)

"Sky Eyes " by Laurel Winter (F&SF 3/99)

"The Transformation of Martin Lake" by Jeff VanderMeer (Palace Corbie 8)

"The Winds of Marble Arch" by Connie Willis (Asimov's, 10-11/99)

"The Wizard Retires" by Michael Meddor (F&SF 9/99)

Best Short Fiction

"Amerikanski Dead at the Moscow Morgue" by Kim Newman

"The Chop Girl" by Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov's, 12/99)

"The Dynasters Vol. 1: On the Downs" by Howard Waldrop (F&SF 10-11/99)

"The Grammarian's Five Daughters" by Eleanor Arnason (Realms of Fantasy 6/99)

"Human Bay" by Robert Reed (Asimov's 5/99)

"Naming The Dead " by Paul McAuley (Interzone 149 11/99)

"The Parwat Ruby" by Delia Sherman (F&SF 6/99)

Best Anthology

999: New Stories of Horror and Suspense Al Sarrantonio, ed. (Avon)

Dark Detectives: Adventures of the Supernatural Sleuths Stephen Jones, ed. (Fedogan & Bremer)

Northern Frights 5 Don Hutchison, ed. (Mosaic Press)

Silver Birch, Blood Moon Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, eds. (Avon)

The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Twelfth Annual Collection Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, eds. (St. Martin's Press)

Best Collection

Deep Into that Darkness Peering by Tom Piccirilli (Terminal Fright Press)

Hearts in Atlantis by Stephen King (Scribner)

Moonlight and Vines by Charles de Lint (Tor)

Necromancies and Netherworlds by Darrell Schweitzer and Jason Van Hollander (Wildside Press)

Reave the Just and Other Tales by Stephen R. Donaldson (Voyager, Bantam Spectra)

Best Artist

Les Edwards

Bob Eggleton

Stephen E. Fabian

Jason Van Hollander

Special Award Professional

Seamus Heaney for the new translation of Beowulf

Warren Lapine for DNA Publications

John Betancourt for Wildside Press

Stephen Jones for The Essential Monster Movie Guide

Kim Newman for Millennium Movies (UK), Apocalypse Movies (US)

Gordon Van Gelder for editing (St. Martin's; F&SF)

Special Award Non-Professional

Ken Abner for Terminal Fright Press

The British Fantasy Society

Dwayne Olson, Peder Wagtskjold, Scott Wyatt for Fedogan & Bremer

Rosemary Pardoe for Haunted Library

William K. Schafer for Subterranean Press

R.B. Russell for Tartarus Press

Nominees are not pre-announced in the Life Achievement category.