2001 World Fantasy Awards

Site Map for AwardWeb

Final Ballot covering the 2000 Award Year

The winners were announced at the World Fantasy Convention in Montreal.

Best Novel

Lord of Emperors by Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; HarperPrism; Earthlight)

Perdido Street Station by China Miéville (Macmillan; Del Rey 2001)

Declare by Tim Powers (Subterranean Press; Morrow 2001)

His Dark Materials 3: The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman (Knopf; Scholastic UK)

Galveston by Sean Stewart (Ace Books)

The Grand Ellipse by Paula Volsky (Bantam Spectra)

Best Novella

"Blue Kansas Sky" by Michael Bishop (Blue Kansas Sky)

"Pelican Cay" by David Case (Dark Terrors 5)

"Seventy-Two Letters" by Ted Chiang (Vanishing Acts)

"Mr. Simonelli or the Fairy Widower" by Susanna Clarke (Black Heart, Ivory Bones)
"Chip Crockett's Christmas Carol" by Elizabeth Hand (Sci Fiction)

"Mr Dark's Carnival" by Glen Hirshberg (Shadows and Silence)

"The Man on the Ceiling" by Steve Rasnic Tem & Melanie Tem (American Fantasy)

Best Short Fiction

"The Saltimbanques" by Terry Dowling (Blackwater Days, Eidolon 29/30)

"Lincoln in Frogmore" by Andy Duncan (Beluthahatchie and Other Stories)

"The Pottawatomie Giant" by Andy Duncan (Sci Fiction)

"Shoe and Marriage" by Kelly Link (4 Stories)

"Is There Anybody There?" by Kim Newman (The New English Library Book of Internet Stories)

"The Raggle Taggle Gypsy-O" by Michael Swanwick (Tales of Old Earth)

"Down Here in the Garden" by Tia V. Travis (Horror Garage #1)

Best Anthology

Vanishing Acts edited by Ellen Datlow (Tor)

The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Thirteenth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling (St. Martin's)

whispers from the cotton tree root: caribbean fabulist fiction edited by Nalo Hopkinson (Invisible Cities Press)

Dark Terrors 5: The Gollancz Book of Horror edited Stephen Jones & David Sutton (Gollancz)

Shadows and Silence edited by Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden (Ash-Tree Press)

Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora edited by Sheree R. Thomas (Warner Aspect)

Best Collection

Perpetuity Blues and Other Stories by Neal Barrett, Jr. (Golden Gryphon)

Beluthahatchie and Other Stories by Andy Duncan (Golden Gryphon)

Blackwater Days by Terry Dowling (Eidolon Books)

Travel Arrangements: Short Stories by M. John Harrison (Gollancz)

Magic Terror: Seven Talesby Peter Straub (Random House)

The Perseids and Other Stories by Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Best Artist

Shaun Tan

Jim Burns

Kinuko Y. Craft

Les Edwards

Daniel Merriam

John Jude Palencar

Special Award Professional

Ellen Datlow (for editing Sci Fiction and anthologies)

Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner (for Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art)

William K. Schafer (for Subterranean Press)

Tom Shippey (for J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the Century (HarperCollins UK; Houghton Mifflin 2001)

Gary Turner & Marty Halpern (for Golden Gryphon Press)

Special Award Non-Professional

Benjamin Cossel, Jeremy Lassen & Jason Williams (for Nightshade Press)

Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)

Philip J. Rahman & Dennis E. Weiler (for Fedogan & Bremer)

Barbara Roden & Christopher Roden (for Ash-Tree Press)

Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)

Bill Sheehan (for At The Foot Of The Story Tree: An Inquiry into the Fiction of Peter Straub (Subterranean Press)

Nominees are not pre-announced in the Life Achievement category.